Ven. Thubten Chonyi
began studying the Dharma with Ven. Thubten Chodron at Dharma Friendship Foundation (DFF) in Seattle and became ordained at Sravasti Abbey in 2008.
Caterina De Re
is an interdisciplinary artist and scholar who integrates Buddhism in performance, composition and multi-media. She was introduced to Theravadan meditation in the 80’s and later became a follower of Tibetan Buddhism in the Kagyu and Nyingma lineages. She serves on the board of the Northwest Dharma Association.
Kate Forster
started meditating at the tender age of nine. She lives in Seattle and divides her time as a dialect coach, an instructor, and a technical editor. She loves being involved in the Northwest Dharma News. Kate currently practices with the Seattle Insight Meditation Society.
Amy Groncznack
serves on the NWDA board and lives in Seattle.
Bill Hirsch
is a priest in the (Chinese Hua Yen/Pure Land) White Cloud Buddhist Society and one of the founding members of EcoSangha Seattle. A freelance writer who travels widely in Asia, he serves as secretary on the board of the Northwest Dharma Association.
Timothy O’Brien
is Program Coordinator of the Northwest Dharma Association.
Maryam Steffen
is the mother of four boys, and formally a psychologist working with youth and their families. She practices with Chagdud Gompa Amrita in Seattle and feels blessed to be part of such a fine and productive sangha.
Nick Vail
is the Program and Outreach Manager at Nalanda West in Seattle. He also serves as Seattle vice-president of the Northwest Dharma Association.
Jordan Van Voast
serves on the Board of the Dharma Friendship Foundation (DFF) and is the co-founder of CommuniChi, a community acupuncture clinic on Seattleā€™s Beacon Hill.
Julie Welch
is current president of the Northwest Dharma Association.
Steve Wilhelm
is a former president of the Northwest Dharma Association, now on the board of the Tibetan Nuns Project. He practices in the Theravada and Tibetan traditions.
Photo Credits
Kunzang Laurie Brown, Kate Forster, Rysiek Frackiewicz, Mark Hanauer, Susie Iverson, Thubten Jigme, Marjorie Peterson, Nick Rosza, Thubten Semkye, Doug Tompkins, Snow Lion Publications.
Graphic Art
Courtesy of Snow Lotus Sangha.
Editorial Team
Caterina De Re, Kate Forster, Amy Groncznack, Timothy O’Brien, Julie Welch.
Web Design
Stephen Schildbach.